Documentation

Collaborating on Publications

Available for Liferay DXP 7.4+

By default, a publication can only be accessed by its creator. However, publication creators can invite other users to view, edit, and publish their publications. Users can be added to any ongoing, scheduled, and published publications.

Once users are invited to a publication, you can use the integrated comments feature to facilitate collaboration between contributors.

Inviting Users to a Publication

Follow these steps to invite user to collaborate on a publication.

  1. Open the Global Menu Global Menu, click on the Applications tab, and go to Publications.

  2. Click on the Actions button Actions Button for the desired publication, and select Invite Users.

    Click on the Publication's Actions button and select Invite Users.

    Alternatively, click on the desired publication, and then click on the Invite Users button.

    In publication Changes page, click on the Invite Users button.

    Note

    This is the only way to invite users to a published publication.

  3. Use the drop-down menu grant view, edit, publish, and invite permissions.

    Use the drop-down menu to determine the users permissions for the publication.

  4. Search for and select the desired users.

    Each user is assigned the selected permissions, though you can edit their permissions before and after sending invitations.

    Search for and select the desired users.

  5. Click on Send to add the users to the publication.

Invited users are notified and can begin collaborating on the publication.

Commenting on a Publication

Collaborating users can add comments to a publication via its Changes page. Each comment is scoped to the publication in which they’re made.

  1. Open the Global Menu Global Menu, click on the Applications tab, and go to Publications.

  2. Click on the desired Publication.

  3. Click on the Comments button ( Comments Button ).

  4. In the chat window, type your comment, and click on Reply.

    Click on the Comments button, enter your comment, and click on Reply.

All collaborating users are notified of your comment and can reply as well.

Removing Users from a Publication

Follow these steps to remove a collaborator from a publication.

  1. Open the Invite User modal window for the desired publication.

  2. Click on the drop-down menu for the desired user, and select Remove.

    Open the permissions drop-down menu and select Remove.

  3. Click on Save.