Page Settings

Configuring Locked Pages

Liferay DXP 2023.Q3+/Portal GA92+

Liferay locks pages during editing to avoid conflicts when multiple users try to edit the same page.

This feature works with content, master, utility, and collection pages, along with page and display page templates.

Locking the Page

Whenever a user starts editing a page and adds new content to it, the page locks, preventing other users from accessing it.

If users try to access a locked page, a Page in Use message appears instead. This page shows a Go Back or a Go To [Previous Page Name] depending on whether the previous page exists.

Note

Users can only discard drafts of unlocked pages.

Trying to access locked pages redirects the user to a generic error page

Not all events lock a page:

Tip

If you are working with Publications, the page and its publications are locked and unlocked together.

Unlocking a Page

Most of the time, you don’t have to worry about unlocking a page, as the system unlocks it automatically.

For example, when a user changes a page from edit mode to view mode, when the user logs out, or when the user closes the tab with the page, Liferay unlocks the page.

If a user leaves a page open in Edit mode for a long time without making changes, the system automatically unlocks the page. The amount of time can be configured:

  1. Open the Global Menu (Global Menu) and Navigate to Control Panel → Instance Settings under Configuration.

  2. Under Content & Data, select Pages.

  3. Under Virtual Instance Scope, select Locked Pages.

  4. Toggle Allow Automatic Unlocking Process.

    If you want to disable the feature, turn it off.

  5. Set a Time Without Autosave in minutes.

Warning

The Time Without Autosave may not be accurate as the system checks for locked pages every 15 minutes.

Set the automatic unlocking time in Instance Settings

Site Administrators or Super Administrators can unlock pages manually.