legacy-knowledge-base
Publicado Jul. 25, 2002

Disable Liferay Personal Sites

written-by

Pooja Bhambani

How To articles are not official guidelines or officially supported documentation. They are community-contributed content and may not always reflect the latest updates to Liferay DXP. We welcome your feedback to improve How To articles!

While we make every effort to ensure this Knowledge Base is accurate, it may not always reflect the most recent updates or official guidelines.We appreciate your understanding and encourage you to reach out with any feedback or concerns.

legacy-article

learn-legacy-article-disclaimer-text

Issue

  • How to disable Liferay personal sites?

Environment

  • Liferay DXP 7.2
  • Liferay DXP 7.3

Resolution

  • This property is enabled as true by default, but in order to disable personal sites add these below properties in portal-ext.properties file. 
    # Set whether or not public layouts are enabled. 
    # If public layouts are not enabled, then the property
    # "layout.user.public.layouts.auto.create" is assumed to be false.
    # Env: LIFERAY_LAYOUT_PERIOD_USER_PERIOD_PUBLIC_PERIOD_LAYOUTS_PERIOD_ENABLED
    #
    layout.user.public.layouts.enabled=false
    layout.user.private.layouts.enabled=false
  • And, Liferay automatically creates personal sites on user registration or creation. In order to avoid this, the following properties needs to be added.
    # Env: LIFERAY_LAYOUT_PERIOD_USER_PERIOD_PRIVATE_PERIOD_LAYOUTS_PERIOD_AUTO_PERIOD_CREATE
    layout.user.public.layouts.auto.create=false

    layout.user.private.layouts.auto.create=false
    Note: After adding the above properties, server restart is required so as to bring the properties into effect.

Additional Information

  • The public and private page sets of personal Sites are handled separately. It's easy to leave one Page Set enabled while disabling the other.
  • If initially user has enabled personal sites in instance but then disabled them, existing personal Sites remain in instance until the next time users sign in, at which point they’re removed.

did-this-article-resolve-your-issue

legacy-knowledge-base