Legacy Knowledge Base
Published Jun. 30, 2025

Workflow Tasks Are Missing History

Written By

Emma Carr-Gardner

How To articles are not official guidelines or officially supported documentation. They are community-contributed content and may not always reflect the latest updates to Liferay DXP. We welcome your feedback to improve How To articles!

While we make every effort to ensure this Knowledge Base is accurate, it may not always reflect the most recent updates or official guidelines.We appreciate your understanding and encourage you to reach out with any feedback or concerns.

Legacy Article

You are viewing an article from our legacy "FastTrack" publication program, made available for informational purposes. Articles in this program were published without a requirement for independent editing or verification and are provided"as is" without guarantee.

Before using any information from this article, independently verify its suitability for your situation and project.

Issue

  • After approving a document, I'm not able to see if it was previously approved or rejected.
  • In previous versions of Liferay DXP, users could see the entire history of a task assigned to them in the workflow.
  • When a web content or document goes through the workflow process, there is a loss of history.

Steps to Reproduce:

  1. In a 7.4 bundle, navigate to Content & Data > Web Content and add a folder.
    1. Edit the folder and assign it to the OOTB single approver workflow.
  2. Navigate into the folder you've created and click + to create a web content.
    1. Save the web content, then navigate to the notification in the top right, click on the notification.
    2. Assign the task to yourself, leave a comment, and then reject the web content, and leave a comment there too.
  3. Navigate back to Content & Data > Web Content and make a change to the web content, then submit it again for approval.
    1. Click on the notification in the top right, and this time approve the changes to the web content.
  4. Check the history of the web content. You will see some of your comments after assigning it, and approving it, but the rejection and the rejection message are missing from the history/activities.

Environment

  • Liferay DXP 7.4

Resolution

This behavior is considered expected behavior in Liferay DXP 7.4. In this situation, there are two main contexts to consider: the task and the overall process. Each task in the workflow, like reviewing or updating, keeps its own record of actions (like approvals or rejections). These actions are logged separately because they happen in different tasks.

However, all these tasks are part of one overall process that started when the web content was first created. You can view this process in two places:

  1. Under Notifications > My Submissions, where you'll find all your submissions (or processes).
  2. In the Global menu under Applications > Submissions, which shows all submissions.

Additional Information

 

 

Did this article resolve your issue ?

Legacy Knowledge Base