Security configuration related to session management
How To articles are not official guidelines or officially supported documentation. They are community-contributed content and may not always reflect the latest updates to Liferay DXP. We welcome your feedback to improve How To articles!
While we make every effort to ensure this Knowledge Base is accurate, it may not always reflect the most recent updates or official guidelines.We appreciate your understanding and encourage you to reach out with any feedback or concerns.
Legacy Article
You are viewing an article from our legacy "FastTrack"
publication program, made available for informational purposes. Articles
in this program were published without a requirement for independent
editing or verification and are provided"as is" without
guarantee.
Before using any information from this article, independently verify its
suitability for your situation and project.
Issue
- There are some security configuration requirement regarding session management.
Resolution
- Application uses the 'referrer' header as a supplemental check only, and not just for any authorization check.
- Liferay does not rely on the referrer header for any security purpose as this would not be secure, nor reliable because many browsers will not send that header. With this note, it is confirmed that the 'referrer' header is not used for authorization checks.
- For any long authenticated sessions allowed, the application periodically re-validate a user’s authorization to ensure that their privileges have not changed and if they have, the user is logged out and forced to re-authenticate.
- Authorization changes for any authenticated users are applied in real-time and wouldn't require the logout and re-authenticate.
- The application supports disabling of accounts and terminating sessions when authorization ceases (e.g., Changes to role).
- Liferay disables the account in real-time with a message
your account with login testuser@liferay.com is not active. Please contact the administrator for more help if the user is de-activated by the admin user, however, the session will still be active but the disabled user won't be able to perform any action.
Did this article resolve your issue ?