Legacy Knowledge Base
Published Jun. 30, 2025

Only the person assigned to a Workflow task should be able to edit the Draft

Written By

Tímea Bihari

How To articles are not official guidelines or officially supported documentation. They are community-contributed content and may not always reflect the latest updates to Liferay DXP. We welcome your feedback to improve How To articles!

While we make every effort to ensure this Knowledge Base is accurate, it may not always reflect the most recent updates or official guidelines.We appreciate your understanding and encourage you to reach out with any feedback or concerns.

Legacy Article

You are viewing an article from our legacy "FastTrack" publication program, made available for informational purposes. Articles in this program were published without a requirement for independent editing or verification and are provided"as is" without guarantee.

Before using any information from this article, independently verify its suitability for your situation and project.

Issue

  • A User, who is assigned to a Workflow task should be the only user who is able to edit the Draft while the Workflow task is assigned to him/her.
  • Currently, users with edit/admin rights can edit the Draft any time while it is still under review.

Steps to reproduce

  1. Log in as Admin (Test Test)

  2. Create a new user, assign Admin role (eg: User A)

  3. Go to Liferay site > Configuration > Workflow

  4. Add Single Approver Workflow for Content Pages

  5. As Test Test, create a new Content Page

  6. Add a paragraph element on the page

  7. Log in with User A

  8. Assign the Workflow review task to yourself

  9. With Test Test user, edit the Content Page

Expected Result: Test Test cannot edit the content of the page unless they have the Task in charge. Only the person who is assigned to the Workflow task can edit the page.

Actual Results: Test Test can edit the page and the changes will appear in the Workflow Task as well. The same issue occurs if the task is rejected by User A. In this case the task is assigned back to Test Test, but User A can still edit the Page

 

Environment

  • Liferay DXP 7.4

 

Resolution

  • This feature is currently not implemented but a Feature Request ticket was raised for it.
  • You can follow the ticket here: LPS-203651
  • It is a good idea to add yourself as a Watcher on the Jira ticket and this way, you will get an email notification any time the ticket is updated.

 

Additional Information

  • Please be aware that it is up to our Product Team to decide whether the feature will be implemented.
  • You can also leave a comment on the Feature Request ticket because tickets with higher customer demand get a better visibility and chance to be implemented.
Did this article resolve your issue ?

Legacy Knowledge Base