Legacy Knowledge Base
Published Jun. 30, 2025

Form changes the workflow definition

Written By

Kanchan Bisht

How To articles are not official guidelines or officially supported documentation. They are community-contributed content and may not always reflect the latest updates to Liferay DXP. We welcome your feedback to improve How To articles!

While we make every effort to ensure this Knowledge Base is accurate, it may not always reflect the most recent updates or official guidelines.We appreciate your understanding and encourage you to reach out with any feedback or concerns.

Legacy Article

You are viewing an article from our legacy "FastTrack" publication program, made available for informational purposes. Articles in this program were published without a requirement for independent editing or verification and are provided"as is" without guarantee.

Before using any information from this article, independently verify its suitability for your situation and project.

Issue

  • Draft of a form changes the workflow definition

  • Steps to reproduce:

    1. Navigate to Content & Data > Forms
    2. Click to add a new form
    3. Add a text field to the form
    4. Go to its settings and change the workflow from 'No Workflow' to 'Single Approver'
    5. Publish the form;
    6. Enter the given URL and submit an entry for publication.
    7. Go to the form's entries page and check that your entry is pending.
    8. Go back to edit the form.
    9. Change its workflow setting to 'No Workflow' now
    10. Add another field to the form, but don't save it. Wait for the autosave to kick in (a message can be noticed on the header of the page with the time when the draft was saved)
    11. Now, enter the form's URL again to fill in another entry
    12. First, check that there's only one text field as expected
    13. Submit another entry;
    14. Finally, go back to see the form's entries.
    Expected Behavior: There should be two entries with pending status.
    Observed Behavior: The first entry is pending and the last one is approved due to the fact that the autosave feature changed the workflow of the form without the user telling the app to explicitly publish that change.

Environment

  • Liferay DXP 7.1
  • Liferay DXP 7.2
  • Liferay DXP 7.3
  • Liferay DXP 7.4

Resolution

  • The observed behavior is considered a DXP bug that has been addressed by LPS-124588

Additional Information

Did this article resolve your issue ?

Legacy Knowledge Base