File Name is not updated when editing the document with different document
How To articles are not official guidelines or officially supported documentation. They are community-contributed content and may not always reflect the latest updates to Liferay DXP. We welcome your feedback to improve How To articles!
While we make every effort to ensure this Knowledge Base is accurate, it may not always reflect the most recent updates or official guidelines.We appreciate your understanding and encourage you to reach out with any feedback or concerns.
Legacy Article
You are viewing an article from our legacy "FastTrack"
publication program, made available for informational purposes. Articles
in this program were published without a requirement for independent
editing or verification and are provided"as is" without
guarantee.
Before using any information from this article, independently verify its
suitability for your situation and project.
Issue
- When users choose a file while editing it, the filename is not automatically updated.
-
Steps to reproduce:
1. Start a vanilla instance of DXP 7.4
2. Upload a new document 'abc.pdf' to Document and Media and notice the name is auto-picked as 'abc.pdf'> Publish it.
3. Now, edit this uploaded document 'abc.pdf' and upload another document 'abc.docx' , notice that the name doesn't auto-pick according to the new name > publish it
4. Download the document and open it locally
Expected Behavior: The document should be downloaded as 'abc.pdf.docx' and open properly in local
Observed Behavior: The document is downloaded as 'abc.pdf' and it is corrupted
Resolution
- The observed behavior is expected behavior in DXP 7.4. It is intended to not change the filename on update automatically as Liferay's current implementation doesn't override what the user might have defined.
- The usual case for changing the file is to provide an updated version (of the same image, pdf, doc, etc), so it's not considering the case of changing completely the file.
- However, warning the user about this behavior with a UI message or something, so they could modify it manually, is something that might be improved with the product, but unfortunately, this is not currently in the plans (at the time of writing this article).
Did this article resolve your issue ?