Legacy Knowledge Base
Published Jul. 2, 2025

Changing Content Permissions from Staging Environment to Remote Live

Written By

Brett Ripley

How To articles are not official guidelines or officially supported documentation. They are community-contributed content and may not always reflect the latest updates to Liferay DXP. We welcome your feedback to improve How To articles!

While we make every effort to ensure this Knowledge Base is accurate, it may not always reflect the most recent updates or official guidelines.We appreciate your understanding and encourage you to reach out with any feedback or concerns.

Legacy Article

You are viewing an article from our legacy "FastTrack" publication program, made available for informational purposes. Articles in this program were published without a requirement for independent editing or verification and are provided"as is" without guarantee.

Before using any information from this article, independently verify its suitability for your situation and project.

This article outlines a practical suggestion in the case of publishing updated content permissions from a staging environment to a remote live environment. Following this suggestion will ensure that the updated permissions are indeed published to live.

Resolution

Due to the nature of how remote live staging detects changes in content for publishing to live, content must be “touched” (an update must be saved on that content) for the content to be flagged and pushed to live upon publication.

When changing permissions for a web content in remote live staging, make sure to “touch” the piece of content to flag it as “modified”. This will ensure that a re-publish occurs on the newly permissioned content.

Please note that this only applies to remote live staging; local live staging does not require the republishing of content to enact permissions change.

This discrepancy has been resolved in Liferay Portal 7.0.

Additional Information

Did this article resolve your issue ?

Legacy Knowledge Base