Knowledge Base
Published Jun. 30, 2025

Can't save web content article because the Submit for Publication button is disabled

Written By

Ahmed Abdin

How To articles are not official guidelines or officially supported documentation. They are community-contributed content and may not always reflect the latest updates to Liferay DXP. We welcome your feedback to improve How To articles!

While we make every effort to ensure this Knowledge Base is accurate, it may not always reflect the most recent updates or official guidelines.We appreciate your understanding and encourage you to reach out with any feedback or concerns.

Issue

I'm unable to edit web content and submit it for publication. The Submit button for Publication button is greyed out and the existing web content is in "Pending" status.

Reproduction Steps:

  1. Set a workflow for web content articles (e.g., the default Single Approver workflow)
  2. Go to Content & Data --> Web Content, create a basic web content, and click Submit for Publication.
    Notice that it is now in Pending status.
  3. Go back to the web content and try to edit and publish it.

Actual Result: It is not possible to edit the Pending content. The Submit for Publication button is disabled.

Expected Result: The web content should be updated with no issues.

Environment

  • Liferay DXP 7.4
  • Liferay DXP 7.3
  • Liferay DXP 7.2

Resolution

The behavior is expected. If the workflow for web content is activated, this means that when you submit web content, it will display the Pending status, as the approver will be notified to check the content and approve it to be published.

If the web content is already in Pending status, it will not be possible to update it. First, the existing content should be either approved or withdrawn by the approver.

The approver can check the Pending content by clicking their user profile icon on the top right and selecting My Workflow Tasks, then selecting Assigned to My Roles. Upon locating the Pending content, the approver can assign it to themselves and approve it to be published. Once completed, the existing content will be published and it'll become editable again.

Another option is to withdraw the Pending web content by following a similar procedure. Rather than selecting My Workflow Tasks from the user profile, select My Submissions. Then, click the Actions button for the Pending content and select Withdraw Submission. Once done, the pending web content will be withdrawn and you will be able to edit it again.

Did this article resolve your issue ?

Knowledge Base