Can't enable Publications because of Staging
Written By
István Gergely-Tárnoki
How To articles are not official guidelines or officially supported documentation. They are community-contributed content and may not always reflect the latest updates to Liferay DXP. We welcome your feedback to improve How To articles!
While we make every effort to ensure this Knowledge Base is accurate, it may not always reflect the most recent updates or official guidelines.We appreciate your understanding and encourage you to reach out with any feedback or concerns.
Legacy Article
You are viewing an article from our legacy "FastTrack"
publication program, made available for informational purposes. Articles
in this program were published without a requirement for independent
editing or verification and are provided"as is" without
guarantee.
Before using any information from this article, independently verify its
suitability for your situation and project.
Issue
- We want to turn on Publications on our site which seemingly doesn't use Staging, however, we get the error message saying:
Staging is enabled for at least one site or asset library in the current virtual instance. Publications and staging cannot be used together.
- We don't have Staging enabled on our current version of Liferay, however, we have used it in a previous version, then migrated it after disconnecting
Resolution
- One of the reasons could be that Staging wasn't properly shut down before the migration, and staging-related entries have remained in the database, so it thinks Staging is still enabled. The site should also be marked Staged on the UI
- This issue could happen if, for example, someone used remote staging and just deleted the Staging site, the Live site still could be considered as part of staging
- You can check the
liveGroupId column in your database's group_ table and see if there is a value other than 0, or if there is a mention of "staged" in the typeSettings column. Both would indicate if a site was involved in staging before
-
You can first try to disable it on the UI, however, you could get an error message:
Error: The tunneling servlet shared secret is not set.
- In this case please run the attached Groovy script in Control Panel -> Server Administration ->Script after adding the affected site's ID and the admin user's ID as well
Did this article resolve your issue ?