Documentation

Enabling and Configuring Sharing

The Sharing configuration allows users to share files with each other. You can enable file sharing at the Global, Virtual Instance, and Site scopes.

Note

Sharing is enabled globally by default.

Global Sharing Configuration

  1. Click the Global Menu (Global Menu) and click Control Panel.

  2. Click System Settings.

  3. Under the Content and Data section, click Sharing.

    The Sharing link leads to the settings for sharing.

  4. Under System Scope, select Sharing.

  5. Configure the following options:

    • Expired Sharing Entries Check Interval: The interval in minutes for how often expired sharing entries are checked for deletion.

    • Enabled: Check this box to enable sharing globally.

  6. Under Virtual Instance Scope, select Sharing.

  7. Check the Enable box to enable sharing for all the Virtual Instances on your system. Leaving it unchecked means configuring sharing on each Virtual Instance.

    Note

    When you enable sharing at the System scope, you enable sharing for all the Virtual Instances on your system. To change this behavior and enable sharing on a per-instance basis, uncheck the Sharing option under the Virtual Instance scope section.

    Configure sharing globally.

  8. Click Save.

Virtual Instance Sharing Configuration

  1. Click the Global Menu (Global Menu) and click Control Panel.

  2. Click Instance Settings.

  3. Under Content and Data, click Sharing.

    Note

    The Sharing option is unavailable when Sharing is disabled at the System Scope. See Global Sharing Configuration to modify the System Scope settings.

  4. Under Virtual Instance Scope, select Sharing.

  5. Check the Enabled box to enable sharing on this Virtual Instance.

    You can enable or disable sharing for each instance.

  6. Click Save.

Site Sharing Configuration

Note

The Site Sharing option is unavailable when Sharing is disabled at the System or Virtual Instance scopes. See Global Sharing Configuration and Virtual Instance Sharing Configuration to modify these settings.

  1. Access the Site Sharing setting.

    • In Liferay DXP 7.4+

      1. From the Site Menu, go to ConfigurationSite Settings.

      2. In the Content and Data section, click Sharing.

    • In previous Liferay DXP versions

      1. From the Site Menu, go to ConfigurationSettings.

      2. Under the Advanced area, expand the Content Sharing section.

  2. Toggle the Enable Sharing option to enable or disable sharing files for your site.

  3. Click Save when finished.