Legacy Knowledge Base
Published Jul. 2, 2025

Workflows Missing After Upgrade to DXP 7.1+

Written By

Katlyn Lee

How To articles are not official guidelines or officially supported documentation. They are community-contributed content and may not always reflect the latest updates to Liferay DXP. We welcome your feedback to improve How To articles!

While we make every effort to ensure this Knowledge Base is accurate, it may not always reflect the most recent updates or official guidelines.We appreciate your understanding and encourage you to reach out with any feedback or concerns.

Legacy Article

You are viewing an article from our legacy "FastTrack" publication program, made available for informational purposes. Articles in this program were published without a requirement for independent editing or verification and are provided"as is" without guarantee.

Before using any information from this article, independently verify its suitability for your situation and project.

Issue

  • I've performed an upgrade to DXP 7.1+, and I noticed that I have a fewer number of workflows in my upgraded environment. 
  • When taking a look at the workflows that were present in the environment prior to the upgrade (and are no longer present in the upgraded environment), I see that they were different versions of an existing workflow. 
  • For example: 
    Workflow Definitions Before DXP 7.1 Workflow Definitions in DXP 7.1+
    Name Version Name
    Single Approver 1 Single Approver
    Single Approver 2 Test Workflow
    Test Workflow 1  
    Test Workflow 2
    Test Workflow 3

Environment

  • An environment that has been upgraded to DXP 7.1+

Resolution

  • Prior to DXP 7.1, all versions of a workflow definition were listed as separate workflow definitions entries. However, in DXP 7.1, Liferay has introduced a change to list all versions of a workflow under the same entry. This causes fewer total workflows to be listed in DXP 7.1+ when a user navigates to Control Panel > Workflow > Process Builder. 
  • This change was introduced to minimize the confusion caused by different versions working as separate workflows and to make the latest update of a workflow as the valid workflow option. 

Additional Information

  • The above change was introduced in LPS-73734
Did this article resolve your issue ?

Legacy Knowledge Base