Users without permission can see title of other dynamic data lists
How To articles are not official guidelines or officially supported documentation. They are community-contributed content and may not always reflect the latest updates to Liferay DXP. We welcome your feedback to improve How To articles!
While we make every effort to ensure this Knowledge Base is accurate, it may not always reflect the most recent updates or official guidelines.We appreciate your understanding and encourage you to reach out with any feedback or concerns.
Legacy Article
You are viewing an article from our legacy "FastTrack"
publication program, made available for informational purposes. Articles
in this program were published without a requirement for independent
editing or verification and are provided"as is" without
guarantee.
Before using any information from this article, independently verify its
suitability for your situation and project.
Issue
- Consider the use case below.
- Log in as admin and create a regular role role1 and add to it the DDL permissions visible in the attached screenshot Dynamic-Data-Lists-01.png.
- Create a user A.
- Create a user group UG1 and add A to it.
- Assign user group UG1 to the role1 role. (so everybody in this user group will have those permissions from step 1)
- Go to the default site's Content&Data/Dydnamic Data Lists and create 2 new lists: list1 and list2 (I used the built-in Contacts definition for each of them)
-
Checkpoint: open the permissions for these lists and assess that the row for role1 is all the way unticked, so no permission is ticked for this role.
6. Leave the permission of list1 as they are and open the permissions of list2 (to the right: Actions/Permissions) and for role1 tick Add Record and View (because you said: "this group has the permission to see the created list and can add content in there", I guess thats what you meant). In other words: we give to role1 the permission to view the entries of list2, and to also add entries to list2.
7. Log in with A and on the left got to Content&Data/Dynamic Data Lists.
Result: you see both list1 and list2 listed
Expected : you should only see list2 listed. You should not see list 1 listed, as if you shouldn't even know that there exists a list called list1.
Resolution
-
This is intended behaviour. This happens because for the role you have enabled those 2 permissions at the top: General Permissions --> Access in Site and Asset Library Administration, View.
This basically says that you will see everything that the Content&Data/Dynamic Data Lists portlet shows, displays. So you will see all the lists it lists out.
The other View permission, the one on the list level, is about something else: that tells if that role is able to view the entries of that list. And this works as expected. Yes, the user can see list1 listed in the portlet (because of the general permissions mentioned above), but he cannot step into it, he cannot see its entries, he cannot do anything about it (because the individual permission for that list are all ticked off for that role).
-
As a workaround - if the users with that role should only see one list - perhaps you could use the Dynamic Data List Display widget, which can be configured (and needs to be configured) to show only one list. So you could create a page in a site (probably the site where you have that list) and put a Dynamic Data List Display widget on it and configure the widget to show that specific one list that is important to members of role role1. And then these users can go to this page when they want to do something about this list, and they will only see this list in the widget, they will not see the rest of the lists (because the widget can show only one list at a time).
Did this article resolve your issue ?