Legacy Knowledge Base
Published Jul. 2, 2025

Unwanted columns in CSV/Excel exported form

Written By

Sorin Pop

How To articles are not official guidelines or officially supported documentation. They are community-contributed content and may not always reflect the latest updates to Liferay DXP. We welcome your feedback to improve How To articles!

While we make every effort to ensure this Knowledge Base is accurate, it may not always reflect the most recent updates or official guidelines.We appreciate your understanding and encourage you to reach out with any feedback or concerns.

Legacy Article

You are viewing an article from our legacy "FastTrack" publication program, made available for informational purposes. Articles in this program were published without a requirement for independent editing or verification and are provided"as is" without guarantee.

Before using any information from this article, independently verify its suitability for your situation and project.

Issue

  • After I export my form entries to CSV, I see a lot of unneeded, additional columns in the result, like previous labels of my form fields

Environment

  • DXP 7.2

Resolution

  • Fields whose labels you have been modifying over time can appear as multiple columns in the resulting file (with their previous labels)
  • The reason for this is the following: when you edit the label of a field (in the Basic tab), "behind the doors", in the Advanced tab there is a field name, which is automatically changed accordingly to how you edit the label. So if you give the field a new label, it will also get a new name.
  • And from the point of view of "Export to CSV" feature, these names are considered different entities, different fields, and therefore end up as different columns in the resulting file.
  • Therefore, if you don't want that to happen: before starting to edit the label, go to the Advanced tab and copy the current field name, then go back to the Basic tab and do your label modification, and then go back to the Advanced tab and paste back the original name of the field (you will notice that it changed in the meantime). This way you ensure that only the field's label changes, but not its name (so it's the same field logically), so previous versions of field will not appear as separate columns in the export file.

 

 

Did this article resolve your issue ?

Legacy Knowledge Base