Understanding WebDAV Upload Permissions
How To articles are not official guidelines or officially supported documentation. They are community-contributed content and may not always reflect the latest updates to Liferay DXP. We welcome your feedback to improve How To articles!
While we make every effort to ensure this Knowledge Base is accurate, it may not always reflect the most recent updates or official guidelines.We appreciate your understanding and encourage you to reach out with any feedback or concerns.
legacy-article
learn-legacy-article-disclaimer-text
Issue
- Are documents uploaded through WebDAV given more permissions than UI uploads?
- Why can one user who uploads a document through WebDAV update or delete the file while another user with the same level of permissions cannot?
Environment
Resolution
- When the first user uploaded the document themselves, they were also granted the "Owner" role of that document in addition to any assigned roles, giving them the expected default permissions to Update, Delete, and change Permissions for that document (in addition to the View and Add Discussion default permissions granted to site members).
- The difference in behavior between the user who uploaded the document (being able to interact with a document) and a second user (not being able to update/delete that document by default) is because role permissions are cumulative. In the example above, the first user is both a site member and owner (regarding the uploaded document), while the second user is only a site member.
- Using the file manager via WebDAV does not bypass the functionality of the web interface -- uploads from the UI and from WebDAV are treated the same within Liferay regarding each user's roles and permissions.
did-this-article-resolve-your-issue