Legacy Knowledge Base
Published Jun. 30, 2025

Old URLs still accessible

Written By

Lucas Mesquita

How To articles are not official guidelines or officially supported documentation. They are community-contributed content and may not always reflect the latest updates to Liferay DXP. We welcome your feedback to improve How To articles!

While we make every effort to ensure this Knowledge Base is accurate, it may not always reflect the most recent updates or official guidelines.We appreciate your understanding and encourage you to reach out with any feedback or concerns.

Legacy Article

You are viewing an article from our legacy "FastTrack" publication program, made available for informational purposes. Articles in this program were published without a requirement for independent editing or verification and are provided"as is" without guarantee.

Before using any information from this article, independently verify its suitability for your situation and project.

Issue

  • When change the friendlyURL of a post, the old URL continues to be accessible.

Environment

  • Liferay DXP 7.2

Resolution

  • The behavior is caused by the following Epic ticket: Keep history of friendly URLs. With this feature, the old FriendlyURLs are kept in the history and that is why when trying to access the new page using the URL of the old page, it is redirected to the new and a 404 page not found error is not displayed.

    In Liferay DXP 7.2 is not possible to disable the storage of friendlyURLs in the history, nor is it possible to remove them via the user interface, this is the default behavior of the product, if necessary it can be removed using the API.

Additional Information

Did this article resolve your issue ?

Legacy Knowledge Base