Legacy Knowledge Base
Published Jul. 2, 2025

LCS Connection Grace Period Message Displayed to Liferay DXP Users

Written By

Patricia Draut

How To articles are not official guidelines or officially supported documentation. They are community-contributed content and may not always reflect the latest updates to Liferay DXP. We welcome your feedback to improve How To articles!

While we make every effort to ensure this Knowledge Base is accurate, it may not always reflect the most recent updates or official guidelines.We appreciate your understanding and encourage you to reach out with any feedback or concerns.

Legacy Article

You are viewing an article from our legacy "FastTrack" publication program, made available for informational purposes. Articles in this program were published without a requirement for independent editing or verification and are provided"as is" without guarantee.

Before using any information from this article, independently verify its suitability for your situation and project.

A warning message will be displayed when a Liferay DXP instance, activated through Liferay Connected Services, loses it's connection for more than 1 hour. This is the connection grace period message that informs administrator users when the Liferay DXP instance will become unregistered.

Figure 1: A warning message is displayed to administrators if the server cant connect to LCS to validate the subscription.

Some Liferay DXP users who see this message do not have the permissions or knowledge to restore the connection to LCS. Therefore this message is not relevant for these users. Because the pop-up message appears every time a page is loaded, it will be distracting or annoying.

Resolution

The connection grace period message is only displayed to users with Administrator Role.

To prevent a user from seeing this message, Liferay DXP administrators need to remove this role from the user's profile. When present, the Administrator Role will be listed in the Regular Roles category, as shown in the screenshot below.

admin_role.jpg

The Administrator Role grants permission to manage the entire Liferay DXP instance, including global settings and individual Sites, Organizations, and Users. When given to users who are not familiar with system operations, such as LCS registration, it becomes a major security risk.

Some of the risks include, but are not limited to:

  • Ability to change Instance Settings, intentionally or unintentionally
  • Possibility of compromising admin user credentials
  • Wider access to other users' data 

We recommend that Liferay DXP administrators restrict permissions to users, to ensure they are able to access only the information and resources that are necessary to perform their intended actions.

Additional Resources

The connection grace period is described in detail in the official documentation. For example, for Liferay DXP 7.2, you can refer to this article: LCS Grace Periods.

To learn more about user roles and permissions, please refer to the following article: Roles and Permissions.

Did this article resolve your issue ?

Legacy Knowledge Base