Legacy Knowledge Base
Published Jul. 2, 2025

How to bulk-edit categories on documents?

Written By

Sorin Pop

How To articles are not official guidelines or officially supported documentation. They are community-contributed content and may not always reflect the latest updates to Liferay DXP. We welcome your feedback to improve How To articles!

While we make every effort to ensure this Knowledge Base is accurate, it may not always reflect the most recent updates or official guidelines.We appreciate your understanding and encourage you to reach out with any feedback or concerns.

Legacy Article

You are viewing an article from our legacy "FastTrack" publication program, made available for informational purposes. Articles in this program were published without a requirement for independent editing or verification and are provided"as is" without guarantee.

Before using any information from this article, independently verify its suitability for your situation and project.

Issue

  • I can select multiple documents and then click the "Edit Categories" icon
  • In the resulting popup, I see two options (Edit and Replace) and below them some categories
  • I am not sure how use this popup, what those 2 options mean exactly, will do exactly. It is all a bit unclear for me.

Environment

  • DXP 7.3

Resolution

  • when the popup opens, below the 2 options we are shown all the categories that are common to all selected documents (the common set)
  • and from there you can add or remove some of those categories
  • if you do that while the Edit option is selected, that means that the common set will be modified accordingly: if you remove one, that category will be removed from all selected documents. If you add one, that category will be added to all selected documents. (and all the categories that are not in the common set, are kept on the documents)
  • on the other hand, if you do that while the Replace option is selected, the same will happen as above, but now, all the other categories that are not in this common set, will be removed from the selected documents (so only the common set of categories you see in this popup will remain on the documents)

So basically the two options do the same (make changes in the common set of categories), with the difference that in the case of Replace, all un-common categories will be removed from those documents.

Did this article resolve your issue ?

Legacy Knowledge Base