Legacy Knowledge Base
Published Jul. 2, 2025

Deleting pages from Live site is allowed

Written By

Kanchan Bisht

How To articles are not official guidelines or officially supported documentation. They are community-contributed content and may not always reflect the latest updates to Liferay DXP. We welcome your feedback to improve How To articles!

While we make every effort to ensure this Knowledge Base is accurate, it may not always reflect the most recent updates or official guidelines.We appreciate your understanding and encourage you to reach out with any feedback or concerns.

Legacy Article

You are viewing an article from our legacy "FastTrack" publication program, made available for informational purposes. Articles in this program were published without a requirement for independent editing or verification and are provided"as is" without guarantee.

Before using any information from this article, independently verify its suitability for your situation and project.

Issue

  • Regardless of who created the page, the Admin user or any site owner role needs to be able to control its deletion on the live site.
  • Steps to reproduce:
    1. Startup Liferay DXP 7.2
    2. Enable remote staging and create a public page (Test Page) on the local site.
    3. Publish page from staging to live
    4. Go to the live site, and check for the same published page
    5. In page navigation, click the three dots beside the page name
    Observed Behavior: You'll see a Delete option, which will allow you to remove the page from the 'remote/live' site.
    Expected Behavior: Pages should not be allowed to be deleted from the Live Site.

Environment

  • Liferay DXP 7.0
  • Liferay DXP 7.1
  • Liferay DXP 7.2

Resolution

  • Allowing deletion in a Live environment is an intentional feature of DXP. This was created with the idea that it could be useful in some cases to be able to delete pages even in a live environment (because there is no convenient method to do it otherwise).

  • This is expected portal behavior, as the Owner has all permissions to the object created by that Owner by default. For all owner-type roles in Liferay, such as Organization Owner and Site Owner, this is the default functionality. For example, since the Site Editor user created the Page, they maintain all permissions associated with that page as the page's owner, regardless of their other Roles. This is because the permissioning system just checks to see if any of the user's roles permit access, and the Owner role does.

  • As a result, in the Live environment, there is no OOTB functionality to disable the delete option.

Additional Information

  • Workaround: User can attempt customizing by editing the sites.xml file in the {Liferay-Home}\tomcat-9.0.33\webapps\ROOT\WEB-INF\lib\portal-impl.jar\resource-actions.
  • We have a channel called 'Global Service Team' that could further assist with the code-level implementation or any development ideas.
Did this article resolve your issue ?

Legacy Knowledge Base