Legacy Knowledge Base
Published Jul. 2, 2025

Cannot resubmit for publication a content page that has been rejected in the worklow

Written By

Sorin Pop

How To articles are not official guidelines or officially supported documentation. They are community-contributed content and may not always reflect the latest updates to Liferay DXP. We welcome your feedback to improve How To articles!

While we make every effort to ensure this Knowledge Base is accurate, it may not always reflect the most recent updates or official guidelines.We appreciate your understanding and encourage you to reach out with any feedback or concerns.

Legacy Article

You are viewing an article from our legacy "FastTrack" publication program, made available for informational purposes. Articles in this program were published without a requirement for independent editing or verification and are provided"as is" without guarantee.

Before using any information from this article, independently verify its suitability for your situation and project.

Issue

  • I enabled Single Approver workflow for content pages, and I notice that after an initial content page draft has been rejected, upon editing the page again, you cannot resubmit it because the "Submit for Publication" button is disabled
  • Steps that demonstrate the issue:

1. Global Menu > Applications > Workflow > Process Builder > Configuration > Content Page > Enable Single Approver
2. Create a new User.
3. Create a new Role > Define Permissions > Site and Asset Library Administration > Site Builder > Pages > Select All and Save
4. Assign the new Role to the new User and also assign the new User Membership to the Default DXP Site.
5. Impersonate the User and create a test Content Page with some random content then Submit for Publication.
6. Return to the Administrator Login and check your Notifications for the Submission. Open it and at the top of the page click the 3 dots menu and select Assign to Me.
7. Then click the 3 dots menu again and Select Reject.
8. Return back to the impersonated User and refresh the page.
9. Attempt to edit the rejected Content Page and resubmit it.
 Expected Result: The "Submit for Publication" button is enabled.
 Actual Result: The "Submit for Publication" button is disabled. The user is unable to resubmit the Content Page.

Environment

  • 7.3, 7.4

Resolution

  • This is actually intended, and the further modifications can be resubmitted, but in a different way
  • the moment the reviewer user rejects the page (step 3), a new workflow task is automatically created for user who created the page in order to Update it and resubmit
  • when the user edits again the page, the changes are saved automatically (so he doesn't need to care about the disabled Submit For Publication button)
  • once he is done with the changes to the page, he can just navigate away from the Draft page and then perform the Resubmit action on the workflow task mentioned above (the one he got when the reviewer rejected)
  • this way the process starts all over again: a new Review task will be assigned to the reviewer's role(s), then he can assign it to himself, and then go on to approving (or rejecting again).

 

 

 

Did this article resolve your issue ?

Legacy Knowledge Base