Legacy Knowledge Base
Published Jul. 2, 2025

After Reindexing, unable to view latest 'Web Content'

Written By

Kanchan Bisht

How To articles are not official guidelines or officially supported documentation. They are community-contributed content and may not always reflect the latest updates to Liferay DXP. We welcome your feedback to improve How To articles!

While we make every effort to ensure this Knowledge Base is accurate, it may not always reflect the most recent updates or official guidelines.We appreciate your understanding and encourage you to reach out with any feedback or concerns.

Legacy Article

You are viewing an article from our legacy "FastTrack" publication program, made available for informational purposes. Articles in this program were published without a requirement for independent editing or verification and are provided"as is" without guarantee.

Before using any information from this article, independently verify its suitability for your situation and project.

Issue

  • After reindexing, "The portal is currently reindexing" message has been seen on the portal and the latest web contents are not displaying on the portal pages.

Environment

  • Liferay 7.0 de-92

Resolution

  • Obtain the backgroundTaskId of the record
  • Perform the delete operation from a Groovy-script through the Script console:
    import com.liferay.portal.background.task.service.BackgroundTaskLocalServiceUtil;BackgroundTaskLocalServiceUtil.deleteBackgroundTask(backgroundTaskId);

Additional Information

  • After running the above groovy script please check if all the entries from 'Backgroundtask Table' are gone.
  • Please check the behavior by going onto the Web Content page, web contents should be visible.
  • Please note:
    • Since this resolution requires modification of database entries using Liferay API, ensure that a database backup is created beforehand and continue to maintain adequate backups in case a rollback is required.
    • We highly recommend to test the above-suggested approach in a lower environment and then move it to production as per your discretion if you feel comfortable with it.
Did this article resolve your issue ?

Legacy Knowledge Base