User is redirected to the 404 page instead of the login page when the session expires.
Written By
Irene Fender Soler
How To articles are not official guidelines or officially supported documentation. They are community-contributed content and may not always reflect the latest updates to Liferay DXP. We welcome your feedback to improve How To articles!
While we make every effort to ensure this Knowledge Base is accurate, it may not always reflect the most recent updates or official guidelines.We appreciate your understanding and encourage you to reach out with any feedback or concerns.
Legacy Article
You are viewing an article from our legacy "FastTrack"
publication program, made available for informational purposes. Articles
in this program were published without a requirement for independent
editing or verification and are provided"as is" without
guarantee.
Before using any information from this article, independently verify its
suitability for your situation and project.
Issue
-
The user is not prompted for login but to a 404 page when navigating in pages with restricted access if the user session expires or, if the user is not logged in and tries to access directly the url.
Resolution
- We disable this feature, that is present in former versions of DXP, to avoid the potential risks of the user enumeration and page enumeration attack vector.
- When the Login Prompt is enabled, an attacker can guess users or private/restricted pages simply by the different responses the portal gives when accessing existing vs non-existing pages.
- This behaviour can be reverted from Control Panel -> System Settings ->Login ->Login Prompt Enabled.
Did this article resolve your issue ?