Legacy Knowledge Base
Published Jun. 30, 2025

How to resolve duplicate Anonymous Users

Written By

Madeleine Clay

How To articles are not official guidelines or officially supported documentation. They are community-contributed content and may not always reflect the latest updates to Liferay DXP. We welcome your feedback to improve How To articles!

While we make every effort to ensure this Knowledge Base is accurate, it may not always reflect the most recent updates or official guidelines.We appreciate your understanding and encourage you to reach out with any feedback or concerns.

Legacy Article

You are viewing an article from our legacy "FastTrack" publication program, made available for informational purposes. Articles in this program were published without a requirement for independent editing or verification and are provided"as is" without guarantee.

Before using any information from this article, independently verify its suitability for your situation and project.

Issue

  • My upgrade failed with the following error:
failed upgrade process for module com.liferay.user.associated.data.web
com.liferay.portal.kernel.upgrade.UpgradeException: com.liferay.portal.configuration.persistence.listener.ConfigurationModelListenerException: The listener com.liferay.user.associated.data.web.internal.configuration.persistence.listener.AnonymousUserConfigurationModelListener was unable to save configuration com.liferay.user.associated.data.web.internal.configuration.AnonymousUserConfiguration: An anonymous user is already defined for the company: [number]

Environment

  • All DXP Versions

Resolution

  • This error can be caused by having more than one Anonymous User configured for the same company. 
  • To remove one of the Anonymous Users without losing user data, follow these steps:
    1. Take a backup of the database just in case you need to restore the previous version
    2. Delete either one of the two configurations (the user associated with the remaining configuration will be where future anonymous data is stored)
    3. Restart the application server (because the configurations are saved in memory and we need to clear it)
    4. Go to the users and verify which Anonymous User doesn’t have “Delete personal data”  in the ellipsis menu (the one with this action is the one without the configuration)
    5. Delete personal data for this user so that all the data associated with him will be moved to the other Anonymous User (the one with the configuration still available)
    6. Delete the Anonymous user without the configuration (check again inside the ellipsis menu for the one with the action available)

Additional Information

Did this article resolve your issue ?

Legacy Knowledge Base