Documentation

Configuring Automatic Publishing of Displayed Content

Available 7.4+

By default, only content explicitly included in a publishing process is published to Live. If desired, you can configure your instance to always publish content displayed using the following widgets: Dynamic Data Lists Display, Form, Web Content Display, and Wiki Display. This can help ensure displayed content is always up to date in Live.

Follow these steps to configure this Staging behavior:

  1. Open the Global Menu (Global Menu), click the Control Panel, and go to System SettingsInfrastructure.

  2. Click Staging under Virtual Instance Scope in the left menu.

  3. Check or uncheck Publish Displayed Content by Default.

    When enabled, displayed content is republished for the following widgets, regardless of the publishing process’s configuration: Dynamic Data Lists Display, Form, Web Content Display, and Wiki Display.

    When disabled, only content included in the publishing process’s configuration is published.

    Tip

    Keep in mind that always republishing displayed content to Live can be unnecessary and slow down publishing.

  4. Click Save.

Check or uncheck Publish Displayed Content by Default.

Configuring Publishing for Asset Publisher

By default, Asset Publisher does not export displayed content to Live automatically. This is because the widget’s content is usually available in Live. Liferay provides additional configurations for content items displayed using the Asset Publisher widget.

Follow these steps to enable dynamic or manual export for the Asset Publisher widget:

  1. Open the Global Menu (Global Menu), click the Control Panel, and go to System SettingsAssets.

  2. Click Asset Publisher under System Scope in the left menu.

  3. Check/Uncheck Enable Dynamic Export.

    When enabled, Asset Publisher exports include all related assets within the Dynamic Export Limit.

  4. Check Enable Manual Export.

    When enabled, users can select which related assets to include in the export manually.

  5. Click Save.