Documentation

Creating and Managing Publications

Available: Liferay DXP/Portal 7.3+

With Publications, users can create instance-scoped blocks of changes. Because each publication is instance-scoped, they can be accessed anywhere in the Liferay UI and include changes from multiple Sites. By default, users can only view and manage publications they’ve created. However, users can invite each other to collaborate on their publications. See Collaborating on Publications for more information.

Once Publications is enabled, you can create, edit, publish, or remove a publication via the Publications application page or the Publications drop-down menu.

Important

Before upgrading your Liferay version, ensure you’ve published all active publications. After upgrading, active publications are marked as out of date and cannot be published or changed. Also, you cannot revert any publications published before your upgrade. The Revert option is removed for these publications.

Creating a New Publication

Follow these steps to create a new publication.

  1. Click on the Publications drop-down menu, and select Create New Publication.

    Click Create New Publication in the Publications drop-down menu.

    Alternatively, open the Publications application and click on the Add button ( Add button ) in the Ongoing tab.

  2. Enter a name and description for the publication.

    Note

    Publication names do not need to be unique. However, using unique names is recommended for organization.

  3. Click on Create.

Enter a name and description for your publication, and click on Create.

Once the publication is created, you can begin adding changes to it. See Making and Publishing Changes to learn more about the editing and publishing process.

Note

After creation, each publication is automatically updated with changes made in production, provided they don’t conflict with any changes made in the publication.

Managing Ongoing Publications

In the Ongoing tab, you can view a table of all active, unpublished publications that you have permission to view. The table is ordered by Modified Date and includes each publication’s name, description, time of last modification, time of creation, and owner.

The Ongoing tab lists all active, unpublished publications.

From here, you can click on a publication’s Actions button ( Actions button ) to perform the following actions.

Work on Publication: Select the publication to add changes to it. Once selected, you can easily toggle between the publication and production via the Publications drop-down menu. See Making Changes in a Publication for more information.

Edit: Modify the publication’s name or description.

Review Changes: View all changes included in the publication. See Reviewing Publication Changes for more information.

Invite Users: Invite users to collaborate on the publication. See Collaborating on Publications for more information.

Publish: Begin the publishing process for the publication. This redirects users to the publishing page, where they can resolve conflicts. If there are no conflicts, they can then click on Publish to make their changes live. See Publishing Changes and Resolving Conflicts for more information.

Schedule: Schedule the publication’s changes to be applied to production. See Publishing Changes for more information.

Permissions: Assign publication-specific permissions to User roles. Permissions configured in this way are scoped to the individual publication.

Delete: Remove the publication from your instance. When selected, you are prompted to confirm your choice.

Warning

Deleting a publication permanently removes all of its changes from your database and cannot be undone. Before deleting a publication, ensure you’ve saved any data you want to preserve.

Managing Scheduled Publications

In the Schedule tab, you can view a table of all scheduled publications that you have permission to view. By default, scheduled publications are listed by Name, though you can order them by modified date or when each publication is scheduled for Publishing.

The Schedule tab lists all scheduled publications for your instance.

Once scheduled, changes cannot be added to a publication. However, you can click on the Actions button ( Actions button ) for a scheduled publication to perform the following actions:

Unschedule: Cancel the scheduled publishing and return the publication to the In Progress status.

Reschedule: Set an alternative date and time for publishing the changes to production.

Review Changes: View all changes included in the publication.

Managing History of Publications

In the History tab, you can view a table of all published publications for the DXP instance, including those published by other users. By default, publications are ordered by Published Date, though you can order them by name.

The History tab lists all previously published publications for your instance.

From here, you can click Revert for a publication to automatically create a new publication that reverts its changes. You can also make additional changes to your DXP instance as part of your Revert publication. See Reverting Changes for more information.

Note

While all published publications on an instance are listed in the History tab, only publication owners and collaborators can view the publication’s list of changes or revert it.