Documentation

Account Users

Available 7.4+

Account Users are User accounts that are associated with a Business Account or a Person Account.

Adding a New Account User

  1. Open the Global Menu (Global Menu). Navigate to ApplicationsAccount Users.

  2. Click the Add icon (Add icon) to create a new Account User.

  3. Select the Account to associate with User.

  4. Fill in the necessary information for this new User.

    Fill in the account user's information.

    Click the Save button to save the new account user.

Note

If you are using a version before Liferay DXP 7.4 U21 or Liferay Portal 7.4 GA21, Users for Accounts can only be created within this Account Users interface. A regular DXP User that is created in the Users and Organizations interface cannot be associated with any Accounts. However, an Account User can be managed and edited from Users and Organizations after creation.

Setting a Password for an Account User

When you create an Account User, Liferay DXP generates a password for the User, using the mail server to send an email message with the User’s new password.

If you haven’t set up a mail server, set a password manually for the User.

  1. In Account Users, click on the Options icon (Options icon) of the Account User you want to edit.

  2. Under the General tab, click Password. Set a password and click Save.

Associating an Existing User to a Business Account

To associate an existing user to a Business Account,

  1. Open the Global Menu (Global Menu). Navigate to ApplicationsAccounts.

  2. Click the Options icon (Options icon) of the account you want to edit and click Manage Users.

  3. Click the Add icon and select a user to assign to the account.

Associating an Existing User to a Personal Account

To associate an existing user to a Personal Account,

  1. Open the Global Menu (Global Menu). Navigate to ApplicationsAccounts.

  2. Click the Options icon (Options icon) of the account you want to edit and click Edit.

  3. Under the User section, click the Assign button and select a user. Click the Choose button.

Editing an Account User

  1. In Account Users, click the Options icon (Options icon) of the account user you want to edit.

  2. Click Edit to see the Edit User page.

The following options are available in the Edit User page:

General Tab

Description

Information

Edit or change the user’s personal information.

Accounts

View or modify the User’s associated accounts.

Password

Add or change the user’s password.

Contact Tab

Description

Addresses

Add or change the user’s addresses.

Contact Information

Add or change the user’s contact information

Preferences Tab

Description

Alert and Announcements Delivery

Change the user’s notification settings.

Display Settings

Change the user’s time zone and greeting settings.

Deactivating and Deleting an Account User

Deleting an Account User is a two-step process:

  • You may decide that you want to keep the Account User after all.

  • There may be user data that is tied with legal requirements you need to address.

  • You may require more time to review a User’s account before deletion.

For these reasons and more you must first deactivate an Account User before deleting an Account User.

Deactivating an Account User

Deactivating an Account User prevents the User from logging in, but still preserves the User’s data and information.

  1. In Account Users, click the Options icon (Options icon) of the account user you want to edit.

  2. Click Deactivate and click the OK button to confirm your change. The Account User is now deactivated.

To see a deactivated User, click the Filter and Order drop-down menu and click Inactive under Filter by Status. You can click a User’s Options icon (Options icon) and click Activate to reactivate the User.

Deleting an Account User

  1. In Account Users, click the Filter and Order drop-down menu and click Inactive under Filter by Status.

  2. Click the inactive User’s Options icon (Options icon) and click Delete

    Select the inactive user and click Delete.

  3. Click OK on the pop-up form to confirm your decision. The Account User is now deleted.

Impersonating an Account User

You can impersonate Account Users to view the system as they would see it. This can be used to diagnose permission issues an administrator can’t see, such as making sure a User doesn’t have access to restricted data. Only Users with this permission can impersonate a different User.

  1. In Account Users, click the Account User’s Options icon (Options icon).

  2. Click Impersonate User and a new window opens with you logged in as that Account User.