Documentation

Using Workflow with Documents and Media

Users can implement a Workflow for their Documents and Media files. (To learn more about Workflows in general, see Introduction to Workflow.)

The Documents and Media application has its own separate workflow settings. For example, you can activate workflow for a specific folder, so that every file uploaded into that folder must be reviewed first.

Second, you can create multiple Document Types and designate which Document Types are subject to a review process. For example, if there are two created Document Types—a Legal Docs Document Type and a Training Videos Document Type—you can activate workflow for only the Legal Docs Document Type. This is configured at the folder level.

Enabling Workflow for All Document Types

  1. Click (Actions icon) at the top right then Edit.

    Click Edit to access the Options settings.

  2. Select the desired Workflow definition from the dropdown menu.

    Select a Workflow definition.

  3. Click Save when finished.

Once Workflow has been enabled, the Publish button is replaced with a Submit for Publication button whenever a user uploads a file (regardless of Document Type).

Expand to view the Document Type Restrictions and Workflow radio buttons.

Enabling Workflow for Folders

  1. Navigate to (your site) → Content & DataDocuments and Media.

  2. Click (Actions icon) next to the desired folder → Edit.

    Click Edit to access the folder's Workflow settings.

  3. Expand the Document Type Restrictions and Workflow section.

    Expand to view the Document Type Restrictions and Workflow radio buttons.

  4. Select your desired settings. You can have the folder inherit the parent folder (the Documents and Media Home folder in this case), specify a specific Document Type, or enable workflow for all document types inside this designated folder.

  5. If Default Workflow for this Folder is selected, select the Workflow definition.

    Expand to view the Document Type Restrictions and Workflow radio buttons.

  6. Click Save when finished.

Workflow has been enabled for this folder.

Users can also disable workflow for specific folders (or sub-folders) even if workflow has been enabled on the parent (for example, Home) folder. To do so, select the third option: Default Workflow for this Folder (Folder Name) and then select No Workflow. If disabled, files uploaded into this folder do not require the review process.