Documentation

Creating and Managing Asset Libraries

Available: Liferay DXP/Portal 7.3+

You can manage Asset Libraries via the Asset Libraries link in the Applications tab of the Global Menu. Here, you can create and configure as many Libraries as needed and determine how each Library is connected to your Sites.

Create and manage Asset Libraries via the Asset Libraries Page in the Applications tab of the Global Menu.

Creating an Asset Library

  1. Open the Global Menu (Global Menu), and go to ContentAsset Libraries in the Applications tab.

  2. Click the Add button ( Add button ) and enter a Name for your new Asset Library.

  3. Click Save.

This creates a new Asset Library with a unique ID and redirects you to its configuration page.

You can configure your Library now or accept the default settings and start adding content to the Library.

Configuring Asset Libraries

Once you’ve created an Asset Library, you can configure it at any time by clicking on its Actions button ( Actions button ) and selecting Edit. Configuration options are organized into three sections: General, Sites, and Languages.

You can also access a Library’s settings via its dashboard page. Simply click on the name of the desired Asset Library, and then click on Asset Library Settings.

General Settings

Here you can configure an Asset Library’s basic information.

Details: View a Library’s unique ID, and configure its name or description.

Applications: Activate or deactivate a Library’s supported applications (i.e., Documents and Media, Collections, Translation Processes, Web Content). Activated applications can be accessed and used to create and manage digital assets, while inactive applications are not exposed to users. Deactivating an application does not delete the application’s content or remove it from connected Sites.

Sharing: Enable or disable sharing for assets. When enabled, Asset Library members can share its assets with other users.

Asset Auto Tagging: Enable or disable auto tagging. When enabled, assets are automatically tagged using the providers configured at the instance level.

Documents and Media: Enable or disable HTTP directory browsing for this library. By default, this setting is disabled. When enabled, users with view permission for an Asset Library can view files and folders in its document library in their browser (e.g., http://localhost:8080/documents/asset-library-{assetLibraryId}).

Recycle Bin: Enable or disable Recycle Bin for a Library, and set the maximum age for recycled assets. By default, the maximum age is set to 43200 minutes (i.e., 30 days).

Sites

Here you can connect or disconnect individual Sites to an Asset Library, as well as configure how they’re related via the connected Site’s Actions button ( Actions button ).

Connect Sites to an Asset Library and configure their connection.

Add: Connect a new Site to the selected Library.

Make Searchable/Unsearchable: Determine whether the Library’s assets appear in search queries for the selected Site. By default, all connections are searchable.

Make Web Content Structures Available: By default, this feature is disabled. When enabled, you can create Web Content Structures and Templates in the Site based on structures and types stored in the Library. Be careful: if you disable this feature later, content using these structures in Sites is no longer available.

Disconnect: Disconnect the selected Site from the Library. When disconnected, the Library’s assets are no longer accessible from the Site.

Important

You cannot disconnect a Library from a Site while its web content structures are made available. This is to avoid problems in Public Pages using them for their contents.

Languages

Here you can choose the active language for an Asset Library, whether it’s the default or not. You can determine your Library’s default language, along with each language’s relative priority. If you define a custom language, you can edit the list to determine which languages are available in the Library.

Use your instance's default language options for an Asset Library, or define your own

Use the Drag icon ( Drag icon ) to adjust a language’s relative priority, or click on a language’s Actions button ( Actions button ) and select Move Up or Move Down.

Managing Asset Library Memberships

You can view and manage User memberships for an Asset Library by going to its dashboard Page and clicking on Memberships. From here, you can click the Add button (Add button) to add new Users, Organizations, and User Groups to the selected Library. You can also Assign Roles or Remove Memberships for each existing member by clicking on its Actions button ( Actions button ).

View an manage Asset Library memberships.

By default, Asset Libraries include the five following Roles:

  • Asset Library Member: Grants basic permissions and is automatically assigned to Users who belong to an Asset Library.

  • Asset Library Connected Site Member: Automatically assigned to members of a connected Site.

  • Asset Library Content Reviewer: Grants permissions necessary for reviewing content in a workflow.

  • Asset Library Administrator: Grants permission to manage most aspects of an Asset Library, including content, memberships, and settings. However, it does not grant permission to modify or assign the Owner or Administrator Roles to other members.

  • Asset Library Owner: Grants control over all aspects of an Asset Library and is automatically assigned to the Library’s creator.

Note

By default, the Asset Library Member’s permissions are more restricted than those of its Site counterpart. This means you’ll need to manually grant access to applications, update/delete permissions for content, and more if you want Members to be responsible for managing content.

Creating or customizing an Asset Library Role is the same process as for other kinds of Roles. See Roles and Permissions for how to create, customize, manage, and assign Roles.

Deleting an Asset Library

To remove an Asset Library and its contents from your instance, click its Actions button ( Actions button ) and select Delete. You are then prompted to confirm the deletion. Once deleted, all contained assets are removed from your database and are no longer available to previously connected Sites.

Warning

Asset Library deletion cannot be undone. Ensure you’re removing the correct Asset Library and that you’ve backed up any assets you want to keep.