Documentation

Configuring Mentions

Mentions are enabled by the Mentions app. By default, the Mentions app is enabled globally. However, this can be enabled or disabled either globally or per Site.

Configuring Mentions on a Global Scope

To access the global Mentions settings for your Virtual Instance:

  1. Click the Global Menu (Global Menu) and click Control Panel.

  2. Under Configuration, click Instance Settings.

  3. Under Content and Data, click Community Tools.

    Community Tools

  4. In the Virtual Instance Scope section, click Mentions.

  5. By default, all users can mention fellow Site members and friends. To configure this option, select Define Mentions Capability for Users and specify the settings you want.

    You can enable or disable the Mentions feature for all of the Virtual Instance's Sites.

  6. Click Save.

Configuring Mentions on a Site Scope

Site administrators can enable or disable Mentions for a Site.

  1. Access the Mentions option:

    • In Liferay DXP 7.4+

      1. From the Site Menu, go to ConfigurationSite Settings.

      2. In the Content and Data section, click Community Tools and then click Mentions.

        In Liferay DXP 7.4+, change the Mentions setting from the Site Settings section.

    • In previous Liferay DXP versions

      1. From the Site Menu, go to ConfigurationSettings.

      2. Under the Social area, expand the Mentions option.

        In previous Liferay DXP versions, change the Mentions setting from the Settings section.

  2. In the Allow Users to Mention Other Users option, toggle the switch to set your preferred setting.

  3. Click Save.