Documentation

Using the Recycle Bin

Recycle Bin functionality is available for the following assets:

  • Blogs

  • Bookmarks

  • Documents and Media

  • Folders

  • Message Boards (and attachments)

  • Web Content

  • Wiki (and attachments)

Note

Attachments added to Wiki and Message Board entries do not go to the Recycle Bin when they are deleted. They can be restored in a similar fashion from the Removed Attachments menu within the application.

Moving Items to the Recycle Bin

  1. Open the Site Menu (Product Menu) → Content & DataWeb Content.

  2. Use the checkboxes to select the folders and assets you want to recycle, and then click the Recycle Bin button (Recycle).

    Alternatively, you can click the Actions button (Actions) for individual folders or assets and select Move to the Recycle Bin.

    Check the folders and assets you want to move to the Recycle Bin.

  3. Click OK in the confirmation window.

A status message appears indicating how many items have been moved to the Recycle Bin along with a quick access link and an Undo button to restore the recycled assets.

DXP displays a status message with a quick access link to the Recycle bin and an Undo button.

Drag and Drop

You can also drag and drop items into the Recycle Bin:

  1. Use the checkboxes to select the folders or assets you want to recycle.

  2. Drag and drop the selected assets into the Recycle Bin in the Site menu. As you do this, a message appears near your cursor indicating the number of files you’re moving.

    Drag and drop multiple folders and assets into the Recycle Bin.

Restoring Items from the Recycle Bin

  1. Open the Site MenuRecycle Bin.

  2. Use the checkboxes to select the folders and assets you want to restore, and then click the Restore button (Restore).

    Alternatively, you can click on the Actions button (Actions) for individual folders or assets and select Restore.

    Check the folders and assets you want to move to restore.

A status message appears indicating which items have been restored, along with quick access links to view them in your Site.

DXP displays a status message with a quick access links to the restored items.

Deleting Items Permanently

  1. Open the Site MenuRecycle Bin.

  2. Use the checkboxes to select the recycled folders and assets you want to delete permanently from you instance and click the Delete button (Delete).

    Alternatively, you can click on the Actions button (Actions) for individual folders or assets and select Delete.

    Check the recycled folders and assets you want to delete.

Important

Deleting your content is the permanent and cannot be undone. Deleted files cannot be retrieved and are gone forever.

A status message appears indicating whether your request was successful.

DXP displays a status message indicating whether your request was successful.

To delete all recycled items, click on the Actions button (Actions) in the Application bar, and select Empty the Recycle Bin.