Documentation

Managing Image Resolutions

Users can manage Adaptive Media Image Resolutions and their resulting adapted images. For example, you can enable, disable, edit, and delete resolutions. You can also generate any adapted images that may be missing for a resolution.

Enabling Image Resolutions

Image resolutions are enabled by default. If you need to enable a disabled resolution,

  1. Navigate to the Global MenuControl PanelAdaptive Media.

  2. Click the (Actions) icon next to the desired Image Resolution.

  3. Click Enable.

While a resolution is disabled, it doesn’t generate adapted images for new image uploads. After enabling a resolution, you should generate the adapted images that weren’t generated while it was disabled (see Generating Missing Adapted Images for instructions on this).

Disabling Image Resolutions

Disabling an image resolution prevents it from generating adapted images. Any images uploaded after the resolution is disabled use the most appropriate resolution that’s still active. Adapted images previously generated by the disabled resolution are still available.

To disable an image resolution,

  1. Navigate to the Global MenuControl PanelAdaptive Media.

  2. Click the (Actions) icon next to the desired Image Resolution.

  3. Click Disable.

The Image Resolution has been disabled.

Deleting Image Resolutions

If you need to delete an Image Resolution, you must first disable it. You cannot delete enabled resolutions. This prevents the accidental deletion of image resolutions.

Be careful when deleting an image resolution, as any adapted images it created are irretrievably lost and are not automatically replaced by new image resolutions you create.

Follow these steps to delete an image resolution:

  1. Click the (Actions) icon next to the desired Image Resolution.

  2. Click Delete.

The Image Resolution has been deleted.

Editing Image Resolutions

Tip

Image resolutions and their identifiers can’t be updated if the resolution has been used to adapt images. This prevents inconsistencies in generated images.

Therefore, editing an image resolution is only possible if Adaptive Media hasn’t yet generated adapted images for it. If you must change the values of a resolution that already has adapted images, you must delete that resolution and create a new one with the new values.

Generating Missing Adapted Images

If Adaptive Media hasn’t generated all the images you need (for example, if new images were uploaded before a new image resolution was created or while the resolution was disabled), you must generate the missing images manually.

The Adapted Images column shows the percentage of images that are adapted for each resolution.

To manually generate missing adapted images,

  1. For a single resolution, select Adapt Remaining from the resolution’s Actions menu (Actions).

  2. For all resolutions at once, select Adapt All Images from the Actions menu in the Control Menu at the top of the page.

The Recycle Bin and Adapted Images

You can’t move adapted images directly to the Recycle Bin. But if the original image is in the Recycle Bin, the corresponding adapted images behave as if they are in the Recycle Bin and users can’t view them.

URLs that point to adapted images whose original image is in the Recycle Bin return an error code of 404 Not Found.

If the original image is restored from the Recycle Bin, the adapted images are accessible again.