Documentation

Managing Picklist Permissions

Picklist is integrated with Liferay’s permissions framework. This means you can assign application and resource permissions to user Roles to determine which users have access to the Picklists application and its data.

Assign Picklist permissions when defining Role permissions.

See Defining Role Permissions for more information about assigning permissions to user Roles.

Application Permissions

Application permissions grant permission to perform general application-related operations and do not include resource-related permissions.

Picklists has the following application permissions:

Permission

Description

Access in Control Panel

Access Picklists in the Global Menu

Configuration

View and modify configuration options for the Picklists portlet

Permissions

View and modify Picklists permissions

Preferences

View and modify preferences for the Picklists portlet

View

View the Picklists portlet

Resource Permissions

Resource permissions grant permissions on specific application resources. Some of these permissions enable performing operations on database entities (i.e., model resources). Others grant permission to perform resource-related operations in an application context (e.g., create a new resource entity).

The Picklists portlet has the following resource permissions.

Actions on Database Entities

Permission

Description

Delete

Delete a Picklist

Permissions

View and modify permissions for a Picklist

Update

Update a Picklist

View

View a Picklist

Managing Permissions for Individual Picklists

Available Liferay DXP 7.4 U17+ and Liferay Portal 7.4 GA17+

Follow these steps to manage permissions for individual Picklists:

  1. Open the Picklists application via the Global Menu (Global Menu).

  2. Click on the Actions button (Actions Button) for the desired Picklist and select Permissions.

    Click the Actions button for the desired Picklist and select Permissions.

  3. Use the checkboxes to grant database entity permissions to the desired Roles.

    Note

    Permissions defined at the Roles admin level override permissions defined at the individual level.

    Use the checkboxes to assign permissions to the desired roles.

  4. Click Save.