Available: Liferay DXP/Portal 7.4+
The Objects portlet provides a powerful way to manage both system and custom Objects. System Objects include any Liferay applications that have been integrated with the Objects framework, while custom Objects are applications created using the Objects portlet. Though both types of Objects are supported, some management options are only available for custom Objects.
See Objects Application Permissions to learn more about the permissions necessary for performing these management actions.
Editing and Extending Objects¶
You can add fields to any system or custom Object. Any field added to a system or custom Object after it’s published can be edited and removed at any time. However, fields included in a custom Object at the time it is published can only be edited minimally and cannot be removed, and native system Object fields cannot be edited or removed at all. All fields can be viewed in an Object’s fields in its Fields tab. See Adding Fields to Objects for more information.
You can add and configure relationships for custom Objects. After creation, users can only edit a relationship’s Label and Deletion Type. Also, relationships can only be removed from an Object draft and cannot be removed from system and published Objects. Depending on the relationship type, an Object’s relationships appear in either the Fields or Relationships tab. See Defining Object Relationships for more information.
You can add, edit, and remove layouts for custom Objects at any time. Custom layouts must include all of an Object’s required fields in order to be set as the Object’s default layout. See Designing Object Layouts for more information.
Activating and Deactivating Objects¶
By default, custom Objects are Activated when they’re first published. This makes the application available for use as soon as it’s created. While active, the Object and its entries can be accessed via the Liferay UI and Headless API calls. You can, however, deactivate custom Objects at any time.
Deactivating an Object removes it from its Panel Category, integrated frameworks, and related Objects. While inactive, an Object can only be edited and extended in the Objects portlet. If an Object’s entries are displayed in a Site or related Object at the time it’s deactivated, those entries are blank, and their fields no longer appear in any related Object layouts.
You can reactivate any inactive Object to make it and its data available for use.
Deactivating an Object does not affect its data; it only prevents users from accessing it until the Object is reactivated.
Follow these steps to deactivate or activate a custom Object.
From the Objects portlet, click on the desired Object.
System Objects cannot be deactivated.
In the Details tab, set the toggle switch to either Active or Inactive.
Click on Save.
You can remove Object drafts. However, once an Object has been published, it cannot be removed. Published Objects can only be activated or deactivated.
To remove an Object draft, click its Actions button () and select Delete.