Documentation

Post-Upgrade Considerations

After upgrading the database, you should configure Liferay for production again and check up on feature changes that might affect your Liferay instance.

Re-enable Production Settings

Now that you are done upgrading your database, re-enable your production settings.

Search Indexing

Reindexing search indexes is required for most upgrades, but is typically not required for applying a service pack or upgrading to a new GA (rolling release) within the same Liferay version. Here’s how to reindex:

  1. Click on the Global Menu (Global Menu icon) and select the Control Panel tab. The Control Panel appears.

  2. Click on Search in the Configuration section, select the Index Actions tab, and click Execute for Reindex all search indexes. The reindex executes and displays a success message when done.

You can reindex your search indexes in the Control Panel.

Note

If you upgraded from an older version (7.1 and below) consider installing Elasticsearch to handle search indexing.

Database Configurations

Prior to upgrading the database, you may have tuned it for upgrade (see Database Tuning for Upgrades). Now that the upgrade is complete, restore your production database settings.

Note

If you migrated from a sharded environment during data upgrade, then you must make more adjustments to your configurations to complete the transition to virtual instances. See the Upgrade and Update Properties section for more information.

Installing the Latest Marketplace Apps

If you were using any Marketplace apps in the previous Liferay version, you should use the version of each app that’s compatible with the new DXP version. Download the latest compatible version of each Marketplace app and install it.

cp [new-app-version].lpkg /new-version/liferay-home/deploy

If your Liferay Home is in source control, commit the new app deployment.

commit -a -m "New version of xyz app"

Accounting for Feature Changes

Features and behaviors change with new Liferay versions. Review how the following changes.

Enable Web Content View Permissions

Prior to 7.1, all users could view Web Content articles by default. Now view permissions are checked by default instead. Here are the main options for opening view permissions:

Option 1: Open view permissions for all web content articles by navigating to Control PanelConfigurationSystem SettingsWeb ContentVirtual Instance ScopeWeb Content and de-selecting Article view permissions check enabled.

Disable the permissions check for viewing web content by scrolling down in the Web Content menu in the System Settings.

Option 2: If few Web Content articles exist, then edit view permissions per Web Content article per role.

Check Web Content Images

Upgrading to 7.2 moves Web Content images to the Document Library and then deletes their former table, JournalArticleImage. To ensure the process succeeded, check your Web Content articles and verify that their images still show correctly.

Account for Deprecations and Features in Maintenance Mode

If you haven’t done so already, review the deprecations and features in maintenance mode and plan for handling how they affect your Liferay instance.

Remove Obsolete Data

Clean up data from obsolete features. Please see Data Cleanup for more information.

Conclusion

Once you’ve completed all necessary post-upgrade tasks, your Liferay server is ready for normal operations as before. Congratulations!